Parks & Recreation Commission

Contact the Parks & Recreation Commission
(831) 768-3240
Parks & Recreation Commission Meetings
Agendas & Minutes


  • Ana V. Hurtado Aldana, District 1
    Term expires: December 2020
  • Paul De Worken, District 2
    Term expires: December 2020
  • Brando Sencion, District 3
    Term expires: December 2022
  • Jessica Carrasco, District 4
    Term expires: December 2022

  • Abel Sanchez, District 5
    Term expires: December 2022
  • Frank Barba, District 6
    Term expires: December 2020
  • Wayne Hayashibara, District 7
    Term expires: December 2022
Pursuant to Charter of the City of Watsonville Section 902, members serve until their respective successor are appointed and qualified. 


Powers and Duties of the Parks and Recreation Commission are defined in the City of Watsonville Charter Section 911 and 912. The Parks and Recreation Commission consist of 7 members appointed by the City Council. This Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the Council and the City Manager in all matters pertaining to recreation and parks.

The duties of this commission include:
  • Provision of the annual budget
  • Recommend new recreation and parks programs for the community
  • Formulate new policies for acquisition and development of parks
  • Care and removal of trees; acceptance or rejection of offers of donations of money
  • Personal property or real estate to be used for recreation and parks
  • Other duties relating to recreation and park matters as directed by the Council not inconsistent with the provisions of the Charter