If you Liked Eragon...

If you liked Eragon, you might enjoy reading...

The Lost Years of Merlin  book cover

The Lost Years of Merlin

by T.A. Barron

A young boy who has no identity nor memory of his past washes ashore on the coast of Wales and finds his true name after a series of fantastic adventures.
Y FIC Barron
Fall of a Kingdom  book cover

Fall of a Kingdom

by Hilari Bell

When the rulers mistakenly believe that they can destroy the evil force approaching Farsala, Jiaan, Soraya, and Kavi must find a way on their own to stop their town from being led into the Flames of Destruction.
Y PBK Bell
The Sword of Shannara  book cover

The Sword of Shannara

by Terry Brooks

Shea must save a fantasy world from a warlock lord by finding a mystical sword.
SF PBK Brooks
The Naming  book cover

The Naming

by Allison Croggon

A manuscript from the lost civilization of Edil-Amarandah chronicles the experiences of sixteen-year-old Maerad, an orphan gifted in the magic and power of the Bards, as she escapes from slavery and begins to learn how to use her Gift to stave off the evil Darkness that threatens to consume her world.
Y FIC Croggon
The Ropemaker  book cover

The Ropemaker

by Peter Dickinson

When the magic that protects their Valley starts to fail, Tilja and her companions journey into the evil Empire to find the ancient magician Faheel, who originally cast those spells.
Y FIC Dickinson
So You Want To Be A Wizard  book cover

So You Want to be a Wizard

by Diane Duane

Thirteen-year-old Nita, tormented by a gang of bullies because she won't fight back, finds the help she needs in a library book on wizardry which guides her into another dimension.
Y PBK Duane
The Sea of Trolls  book cover

The Sea of Trolls

by Nancy Farmer

Jack and his little sister are captured by trolls and must journey to Jotunheim, home of the trolls.
J FIC Farmer
The Siege of Macindaw  book cover

The Rangers Apprentice Series

by John Flanagan

The adventures of Will, a rangers apprentice and later full fledged ranger in a war torn world.
Y FIC Flanagan
Inkheart  book cover


by Cornelia Funke

Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can "read" fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.
J FIC Funke
Wizards First Rule  book cover

Wizards First Rule

by Terry Goodkind

The first book in a epic fantasy series.
SF Goodkind
Eon Dragoneye Reborn  book cover

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn

by Alison Goodman

Eon wants to become an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons, but she must hide the fact that she is a girl. 
Y FIC Goodman
Seraphina  book cover


by Rachel Hartman

In a world where humans and dragons co-exist, Seraphina must find her place in the world while developing her musical talents.
Y FIC Hartman
Dark Lord of Derkholm  book cover

Dark Lord of Derkholm

by Diana Wynne Jones

Derk, an unconventional wizard, and his magical family become involved in a plan to put a stop to the devastating tours of their world arranged by the tyrannical Mr. Chesney.
Y FIC Jones
The Hunting of the Last Dragon book cover

The Hunting of the Last Dragon

by Sherryl Jordan

In England in 1356, as a monk records his every word, a young peasant tells of his journey with a young Chinese noblewoman to St. Alfric's Cove and the lair of a dragon.
Y PBK Jordan
Song in the Silence  book cover

Song in the Silence

by Elizabeth Kerner

A woman adventurer joins a ship sailing to the Dragon Isles in search of fruit that prolongs life. While there, she falls in love with the king of the dragons, with whom she communicates by telepathy. When a sorcerer tries to feed her to a demon, the dragon changes shape into a man and saves.
Y FIC Kerner
Gifts  book cover


by Ursula K. Le Guin

When a young man in the Uplands blinds himself rather than use his gift of "unmaking"-a violent talent shared by members of his family-he upsets the precarious balance of power among rival, feuding families, each of which has a strange and deadly talent of its own.
Y FIC Le Guin
A Wizard of Earthsea  book cover

A Wizard of Earthsea

by Ursula K. Le Guin

Book one of the Earthsea Cycle.
The Young Elites  book cover

The Young Elites

by Marie Lu

After surviving a fever, Adelina is left with strange marking and supernatural powers. 

The Merchant of Death  book cover

The Merchant of Death

by D.J. MacHale

Bobby Pendragon finds himself in an alternate dimension in a country fighting against a magical tyrant.
J PBK MacHale
The Novice  book cover

The Novice

by Taran Matharu

When a blacksmith apprentice discovers he can summon demons, he is sent to a special academy where he must make decisions that affect an entire empire.
Y FIC Matharu
Sabriel  book cover


by Garth Nix

Sabriel, daughter of the necromancer Abhorsen, must journey into the mysterious and magical Old Kingdom to rescue her father from the Land of the Dead.
The Search for the Red Dragon  book cover

The Search for the Red Dragon

by James A. Owen

Nine years after they came together to defeat the Winter King, John, Jack, and Charles return to the Archipelago of Dreams and face a new challenge involving the Lost Boys and giants.
Y FIC Owen
Song of the Lioness  book cover

Song of the Lioness

by Tamora Pierce

Eleven-year-old Alanna, who aspires to be a knight even though she is a girl, disguises herself as a boy to become a royal page, a learning many hard lessons along her path to high adventure.
Y FIC Pierce
The Lightning Thief  book cover

The Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan

After learning that he is the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea, twelve-year-old Percy is sent to a summer camp for demigods like himself, and joins his new friends on a quest to prevent a war between the gods.
Y FIC Riordan and also SP Y FIC RIordan
The Hobbit  book cover

The Hobbit

by J.R.R. Tolkien

Bilbo Baggins is prompted by Gandalf the wizard to partake in an adventure. 
SF Tolkien and SP Y FIC Tolkien
The Lord of the Rings book cover

The Lord of the Rings

by J.R.R. Tolkien

Include the trilogy of books: Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, The Return of the King
Y FIC Tolkien