If You Like Harry Potter

City of Beasts

City of the Beasts


Author: Allende, Isabel
When fifteen-year-old Alexander Cold accompanies his individualistic grandmother on an expedition to find a humanoid Beast in the Amazon, he experiences ancient wonders and a supernatural world as he tries to avert disaster for the Indians.
Call Number: Y FIC Allende
Checkout City of the Beasts
Abarat

Abarat


Author: Barker, Clive
Candy Quackenbush of Chickentown, Minnesota, one day finds herself on the edge of a foreign world that is populated by strange creatures, and her life is forever changed.
Call Number: Y FIC Barker
Checkout Abarat
The Lost Years of Merlin

The Lost Years of Merlin


Author: Barron, T.A.
A young boy who has no identity nor memory of his past washes ashore on the coast of Wales and finds his true name after a series of fantastic adventures
Call Number: Y FIC Barron
Checkout The Lost Years of Merlin
Fall of a Kingdom

Fall of a Kingdom


Author: Bell, Hilari
When the rulers mistakenly believe that they can destroy the evil force approaching Farsala, Jiaan, Soraya, and Kavi must find a way on their own to stop their town from being led into the Flames of Destruction.
Call Number: Y Pbk Bell
Checkout Fall of a Kingdom
A Great and Terrible Beauty

A Great and Terrible Beauty


Author: Bray, Libba
After the suspicious death of her mother in 1895, sixteen-year-old Gemma returns to England, after many years in India, to attend a finishing school where she becomes aware of her magical powers and ability to see into the spirit world.
Call Number: Y FIC Bray
Checkout A Great and Terrible Beauty
Ender's Game

Enders Game


Author: Card, Orson Scott
Child hero Ender Wiggin must fight a desperate battle against a deadly alien race if mankind is to survive.
Call Number: SF Card
Checkout Enders Game
Artemis Fowl

Artemis Fowl


Author: Colfer, Eoin
When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll.
Call Number: Y FIC Colfer
Checkout Artemis Fowl
The Last Apprentice

The Last Apprentice


Author: Delaney, Joseph
Young Tom, the seventh son of a seventh son, starts work as an apprentice for the village spook, whose job is to protect ordinary folk from "ghouls, boggarts, and all manner of wicked beasties."
Call Number: Y FIC Delaney
Checkout The Last Apprentice
So You Want to be a Wizard

So You Want to be A Wizard


Author: Duane, Diane
Thirteen-year-old Nita, tormented by a gang of bullies because she won't fight back, finds the help she needs in a library book on wizardry which guides her into another dimension.
Call Number: Y Pbk Duane
Checkout So You Want to be A Wizard
Stardust

Stardust


Author: Gaiman, Neil
Tristran is compelled to retrieve a fallen star for the woman he loves and crosses through the wondrous gate in the stone wall leading to the world of faerie, where he encounters dangerous rivals for the star.
Call Number: Y FIC Gaiman
Checkout Stardust
Pure Dead Magic

Pure Dead Magic


Author: Gliori, Debi
When their father is kidnapped and danger looms, the Strega-Borgia children, their mysterious new nanny, and a giant tarantula use magic and actual trips through the Internet to bring peace to their Scottish castle.
Call Number: J FIC Gliori
Checkout Pure Dead Magic
Howl's Moving Castle

Howls Moving Castle


Author: Jones, Diana
Eldest of three sisters in a land where it is considered to be a misfortune, Sophie is resigned to her fate as a hat shop apprentice until a witch turns her into an old woman and she finds herself in the castle of the greatly feared wizard Howl.
Call Number: Y FIC Jones
Checkout Howls Moving Castle
A Wrinkle In Time

A Wrinkle in Time


Author: L'Engel, Madeleine
A midnight visitor escorts Meg, Calvin, and Charles across the barriers of space and time to another world.
Call Number: Y FIC L'Engle
Checkout A Wrinkle in Time
Pendragon Series

Pendragon Series


Author: MacHale, D.J.
When the seemingly normal fourteen-year-old Bobby Pendragon is swept into an alternate dimension, he finds himself hailed as a savior in a place called Denduron, a territory in the throes of revolution against a magical tyrant.
Call Number: J Pbk MacHale
Checkout Pendragon Series
Wicked Lovely

Wicked Lovely


Author: Marr, Melissa
Seventeen-year-old Aislinn, who has the rare ability to see faeries, is drawn against her will into a centuries-old battle between the Summer King and the Winter Queen, and the survival of her life, her love, and summer all hang in the balance.
Call Number: Y FIC Marr
Checkout Wicked Lovely
The Riddles of Epsilon

Riddles of Epsilon


Author: Morton-Shaw, Christine
After moving with her parents to a remote English island, fourteen-year-old Jess attempts to dispel an ancient curse by solving a series of riddles, aided by Epsilon, a supernatural being.
Call Number: Y FIC Morton-Shaw
Checkout Riddles of Epsilon
Sabriel

Sabriel


Author: Nix, Garth
Sabriel, daughter of the necromancer Abhorsen, must journey into the mysterious and magical Old Kingdom to rescue her father from the Land of the Dead.
Call Number: Y FIC Nix
Checkout Sabriel
Eragon

Eragon


Author: Paolini, Chistopher
In Alagaësia, a fifteen-year-old boy of unknown lineage called Eragon finds a mysterious stone that weaves his life into an intricate tapestry of destiny, magic, and power, peopled with dragons, elves, and monsters.
Call Number: Y FIC Paolini
Checkout Eragon
Endymion Spring

Endymion Spring


Author: Skelton, Matthew
Having reluctantly accompanied his academic mother and pesky younger sister to Oxford, twelve-year-old Blake Winters is at loose ends until he stumbles across an ancient and magical book, secretly brought to England in 1453 by Gutenberg's mute apprentice to save it from evil forces, and which now draws Blake into a dangerous and life-threatening quest.
Call Number: Y FIC Skelton
Checkout Endymion Spring
Beyond the Deepwoods

Beyond the Deepwoods


Author: Stewart, Paul
Thirteen-year-old Twig, having always looked and felt different from his woodtroll family, learns that he is adopted and travels out of his Deepwoods home to find the place where he belongs.
Call Number: Y FIC Stewart
Checkout Beyond the Deepwoods
The Amulet of Samarkand

The Amulet of Samarkand


Author: Stroud, Jonathan
Nathaniel, a magician's apprentice, summons up the djinni Bartimaeus and instructs him to steal the Amulet of Samarkand from the powerful magician Simon Lovelace.
Call Number: Y FIC Stroud
Checkout The Amulet of Samarkand
The Lord of the Rings

The Lord of the Rings


Author: Tolkien, J.R.R.
J. R. R. Tolkien's classic novel in which the hobbit Frodo and the Fellowship of the Ring undertake a great quest-to journey across Middle-earth and cast the One Ring, filled with the power of the Dark Lord Sauron, into the Cracks of Doom.
Call Number: Y FIC Tolkien
Checkout The Lord of the Rings
The Hobbit

The Hobbit


Author: Tolkien, J.R.R.
Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit, becomes a thief for a band of dwarves and soon finds himself in the midst of a war with the evil goblins and wargs, and forced to make a decision between the call of duty and the pull of the simple life.
Call Number: Y FIC Tolkien
Checkout The Hobbit
The Thief

The Thief


Author: Turner, Megan Whalen
Gen flaunts his ingenuity as a thief and relishes the adventure which takes him to a remote temple of the gods where he will attempt to steal a precious stone.
Call Number: Y Pbk Turner
Checkout The Thief
Sorcery and Cecelia

Sorcery & Cecelia


Author: Wrede, Patricia
In 1817 in England, two young cousins, Cecilia living in the country and Kate in London, write letters to keep each other informed of their exploits, which take a sinister turn when they find themselves confronted by evil wizards.
Call Number: Y FIC Wrede
Checkout Sorcery and Cecelia